

30 November 2018

Dear Prime Minister / Chancellor / Taoiseach / President,

Horizon Europe - EU Multiannual Financial Framework

(a letter to Heads of State or Government, signed by Nobel Prize and other international award winners and CEOs and Chairmen of leading European companies)

At the European Council meeting in December, European leaders will discuss the 2021-2027 EU Multiannual Financial Framework, including the budget to be assigned to Research and Innovation, mainly through the next framework programme Horizon Europe. On this occasion, we want to remind them of the economic impact and the tangible improvements to European citizens' lives that have been generated over the years by the EU framework programmes for Research and Innovation. We urge Europe's Heads of State or Government to support or even to increase the investment in Horizon Europe. €120 billion was seen as the absolute minimum to make Europe a global frontrunner by the High Level Group set by the European Commission and chaired by Pascal Lamy.

Indeed, EU-funded research had a decisive impact and positively contributed to various areas, such as avoiding unnecessary chemotherapy for breast cancer patients; opening the way to batteries and solar cells of the next generation; reducing aircraft emissions and noise; enhancing cybersecurity; qualifying the future impact of artificial intelligence on jobs; etc.

European industry underlines that the EU framework programmes help companies to build up know-how, have access to the "state-of-the-art", achieve synergies and critical mass, access highly skilled and talented people, and network with customers and suppliers. EU-funded research has made an immense contribution to creating and disseminating scientific knowledge indispensable for innovation to flourish. This in turn helps European firms to stay globally competitive in a world that is more and more challenging.



Winners of distinguished international scientific awards emphasise the role of EU funding, in particular via the European Research Council, in adequately supporting ambitious researchers who work at the frontiers of scientific knowledge. The framework programmes are essential to establish the next generation of scientific leaders who, following their curiosity, make ground-breaking and unexpected scientific discoveries that often lay the foundation of technologies and industries of the future.

Together, we urge European leaders to make sure that the next EU financial framework guarantees an appropriately ambitious Research and Innovation budget of €120 billion as a bare minimum. Now that Europe is back on track with its goal of becoming a knowledge-based, sustainable and inclusive society, it must devote even more attention and resources to ensure the basis of its future economic growth and societal development.

When the EU budget funds quality scientific research, it's not only science, the environment, society and the economy that benefit; it is all European citizens.

Yours sincerely,

Ben Feringa, Nobel Prize in Chemistry **Alessio Figalli**, Fields Medal (Mathematics) Theodor Hänsch, Nobel Prize in Physics Serge Haroche, Nobel Prize in Physics Stephan Hell, Nobel Prize in Physics Jules Hoffmann, Nobel Prize in Medecine Bengt Holmström, Nobel Prize in Economy Tim Hunt, Nobel Prize in Medecine Klaus von Klitzing, Nobel Prize in Physics Jean-Marie Lehn, Nobel Prize in Chemistry Lászlo Lovacs, Wolf Prize in Mathematics May-Britt Moser, Nobel Prize in Medecine Edvard Moser, Nobel Prize in Medicine Erwin Neher, Nobel Prize in Medecine Konstantin Novoselov, Nobel Prize in Physics Paul Nurse, Nobel Prize in Medecine Christiane Nüsslein Volhart, Nobel Prize in Biology Christopher Pissaridès, Nobel Prize in Economy Joseph Sifakis, Turing Award (Informatics) **Cédric Villani**, Fields Medal (Mathematics) Ada Yonath, Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Jean-Paul Agon, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, L'Oréal

José María Álvarez-Pallete, Chairman and CEO, Telefónica

Nils S. Andersen, Chairman, AkzoNobel

Paulo Azevedo, Chairman and Co-CEO, Sonae

Ben van Beurden, Chief Executive Officer, Royal Dutch Shell

Jean-François van Boxmeer, Chairman and CEO, HEINEKEN

Carlo Bozotti, Former President and CEO, STMicroelectronics

Svein Richard Brandtzaeg, President and CEO, Norsk Hydro

Martin Brudermüller, Chairman of the Board of Executive Directors, BASF

Paul Bulcke, Chairman, Nestlé

Pierre-André de Chalendar, Chairman & CEO, Saint-Gobain

Jean-Pierre Clamadieu, Chairman of the Executive Committee and CEO, Solvay

Rodolfo De Benedetti, Chairman, CIR

Claudio Descalzi, Chief Executive Officer, Eni

Wolfgang Eder, Chairman and CEO, voestalpine

Henrik Ehrnrooth, President and CEO, KONE

Börje Ekholm, President and CEO, Ericsson

Christoph Franz, Chairman of the Board, F. Hoffmann-La Roche

Ignacio S. Galán, Chairman and CEO, Iberdrola

Zsolt Hernádi, Chairman and CEO, MOL

Frans van Houten, President and Chief Executive Officer, Royal Philips

Pablo Isla, Chairman and CEO, Inditex

Jean-Sébastien Jacques, Chief Executive, Rio Tinto

Jan Jenisch, Chief Executive Officer, LafargeHolcim

Leif Johansson, Chairman, AstraZeneca

Harald Krüger, Chairman of the Board of Management, BMW Group

Thomas Leysen, Chairman of the Board, Umicore

Martin Lundstedt, President and CEO, Volvo Group

Bill McDermott, CEO, SAP

Lakshmi N. Mittal, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, ArcelorMittal

Dimitri Papalexopoulos, Chief Executive Officer, Titan Cement

Benoît Potier, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Air Liquide

Gianfelice Rocca, Chairman, Techint Group of Companies

Kasper Rorsted, Chief Executive Officer, adidas

Güler Sabanci, Chairman, Sabanci Holding

Jean-Dominique Senard, Chief Executive Officer, Michelin

Risto Siilasmaa, Chairman, Nokia

Søren Skou, Chief Executive Officer, A.P. Møller-Mærsk

Tony Smurfit, Group Chief Executive, Smurfit Kappa Group

Ulrich Spiesshofer, President and Chief Executive Officer, ABB

Carl-Henric Svanberg, Chairman, BP and Chairman, ERT

Johannes Teyssen, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, E.ON

Hans Van Bylen, Chief Executive Officer, Henkel

Jacob Wallenberg, Chairman, Investor AB